Facebook Metaverse

Facebook calls itself 'Meta' in an attempt to gain control of Metaverse:

Facebook Metaverse Mark Zuckerberg, CEO of Facebook, announced that the company will change its name to Meta, saying that the move reflects the fact that the company is now much broader than just a social media platform.
The rebranding came several months after Zuckerberg spoke more widely about Facebook's metaverse, in which it relied on the idea of merging the real and digital worlds more seamlessly than ever before, using technologies such as virtual reality (VR) and augmented reality (AR).
Zuckerberg has stated that he hopes that Facebook will form a new economic system, which in turn will create millions of jobs, and doubts about this announcement have varied, as some say that this is just a show by Facebook to shine its brand reputation after several years full of scandals! While other sources say that it is a real attempt to put the company on the right track!

Facebook's Journey Inside Metaverse:

Facebook Metaverse

What is wrong with him that Facebook metaverse The culmination of seven years of joint acquisition, investment and research that began with Facebook's $2 billion acquisition of virtual headset company Oculus, Oculus has continued, under Facebook's cover, to dominate the VR market with a market value of more than 60 percent, due to the great support of Advertising campaigns offered by Facebook on its platform.

Beyond Oculus, Facebook has invested heavily in VR and AR under the Facebook Reality Labs umbrella, and nearly 10,000 people are working on these technologies (20% of Facebook's workforce). Last week, Facebook announced plans to hire another 10,000 developers. In the European Union to work on its own computing platform Facebook Metaverse.

Although a lot of work has yet to be announced, Facebook Reality Labs has published some projects, which include Project Ari , which seeks to create live 3D maps of public spaces, and the recently released Ray-Ban Stories - sunglasses integrated with Facebook with 5MP cameras.

All of these investments and projects are steps toward the infrastructure of Zuckerbeg's vision for Facebook Metaverse. As said earlier

of the year:


It really makes sense for us to invest deeply to help shape what I believe will be the next major computing platform


Why does Facebook want to rule Metaverse?

Facebook Metaverse may finally come to define how we work, learn, and communicate. This means that VR and AR will transcend their current niche uses, and become the everyday technologies we will all rely on.

We can guess Facebook’s vision of metaverse by looking at its current approach to social media. It has shaped our online lives into a massive revenue stream that relies on power, control, and monitoring that is fueled by our data. For example, “VR and AR headsets collect massive amounts of data about the user and their environment, This is one of the main ethical issues around these emerging technologies, and presumably one of the main attractions of Facebook owning and developing them.

What makes this particularly concerning is that the way you move your body is so unique that VR data can be used to identify you, such as a fingerprint. This means that everything you do in virtual reality can potentially be traced back to your individual identity and thus to Facebook it is a digital advertising empire. It is based on tracking our data.

- Critics have ridiculed Facebook's privacy-related ads and described them as the scene of privacy intrusion. Access Now, a digital rights advocate who co-authored Facebook's augmented reality privacy policy in 2020, said it urged Facebook to prioritize alerting pedestrians who have been registered. by Ray-Ban Stories, confirming that her comments were ignored by Facebook.

-Is Internet a map for Facebook Metaverse:

Tony Parisi, one of the early pioneers of VR, asserts that we already have a blueprint for the dystopian Metaverse, and says we should look back to the original vision of the Internet before founding companies, which embodied “an open, collaborative, consensus-based way of developing technologies and tools.”

Facebook's rebranding, its dominance of the VR market, its apparent desire to hire every VR and AR developer in Europe, its takeover of dozens of companies - all seem less of a desire than true collaboration and consensus, and more of an attempt to dominate the next frontier of computing.

One last view:

We have made Facebook rule the world of social media. We shouldn't let her rule the world of metaverses!

Read also in the webtop Are we today more familiar with Facebook and its effects?

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

فيس بوك ميتافيرس

فيس بوك يطلق نفسه ك “’Meta” في محاولة منه للسيطرة على ميتافيرس:

فيسبوك ميتافيرس ,أعلن مارك زوكربيرج ، الرئيس التنفيذي لشركة فيس بوك ، أن الشركة ستغير اسمها إلى Meta ، قائلاً إن هذه الخطوة تعكس حقيقة أن الشركة أصبحت الآن أوسع بكثير من مجرد منصة التواصل الاجتماعي .
وقد أتى تغيير العلامة التجارية بعد عدة أشهر من خطاب زوكربيرج على نطاق أوسع حول فيس بوك ميتافيرس(metaverse) , حيث اعتمدت على فكرة دمج العالمين الحقيقي والرقمي بشكل أكثر سلاسة من أي وقت مضى ، باستخدام تقنيات مثل الواقع الافتراضي VR والواقع المعزز AR.
وقد صرح زوكربيرج أنة يأمل أن تشكل فيس بوك ميتافيرس نظام اقتصادي جديد والذي بدوره سوف يخلق ملايين فرص العمل,وقد تفاوتت الشكوك حول هذا الإعلان حيث يقول البعض أن هذا مجرد استعراض من قبل فيس بوك ليلمع سمعة علامته التجارية وذلك بعد عدة سنوات مليئة بالفضائح! بينما تقول مصادر أخرى أنها محاولة حقيقة فعلية لوضع الشركة على المسار الصحيح !

رحلة فيس بوك داخل ميتافيرس:

فيسبوك ميتافيرس

مالاخلاف علية أن فيس بوك ميتافيرس جاء محصلة سبع سنين من الاستحواذ المشترك و الاستثمار والبحث الذي بدأ مع استحواذ فيس بوك على شركة السماعات الافتراضية Oculus  بقيمة 2 بليون دولار أميركي فقد استمرت  Oculus تحت غطاء فيس بوك في السيطرة على سوق VR  بقيمة سوقية تزيد عن 60 بالمية ويرجع ذلك إلى الدعم الكبير من الحملات الإعلانية التي تقدمها فيس بوك على منصتها .

بعيدًا عن Oculus ، استثمر فيس بوك بكثافة في VR و AR  تحت مظلة Facebook Reality Labs ، وهناك ما يقارب 10000 شخص يعملون على هذه التقنيات ( 20 ٪ من القوى العاملة في فيس بوك), كما أعلن Facebook في الأسبوع الماضي عن خطط لتوظيف 10000 مطور آخر في الاتحاد الأوروبي للعمل على منصة الحوسبة فيس بوك ميتافيرس الخاصة به.

على الرغم من أن الكثير من الأعمال لم يعلن عنها بعد , Facebook Reality Labs قامت بنشر بعض المشاريع والتي تشمل مشروع Aria ، الذي يسعى إلى إنشاء خرائط حية ثلاثية الأبعاد للأماكن العامة ، وقصص Ray-Ban التي تم إصدارها مؤخرًا -وهي نظارات شمسية مدمجة مع Facebook بكاميرات 5 ميجابكسل .

– كل هذه الاستثمارات والمشاريع هي خطوات نحو البنية التحتية لرؤية Zuckerbeg لفيس بوك ميتافيرس. كما قال في وقت سابق

من العام:


أنه من المنطقي حقًا أن نستثمر بعمق للمساعدة في تشكيل ما أعتقد أنه سيكون منصة الحوسبة الرئيسية التالية


لماذا يريد فيس بوك أن يحكم ميتافيرس؟

قد يأتي فيس بوك ميتافيرس في النهاية لتحديد كيفية عملنا وتعلمنا وتواصلنا, هذا يعني أن VR و AR ستتجاوزان استخداماتهما المتخصصة الحالية ، وتصبحان من التقنيات اليومية التي سنعتمد عليها جميعًا.

يمكننا تخمين رؤية فيس بوك للميتافيرس من خلال النظر إلى منهجه الحالي لوسائل التواصل الاجتماعي, لقد صاغ حياتنا على الإنترنت في تدفق إيرادات هائل يعتمد على القوة والتحكم والمراقبة والتي تغذيها بياناتنا,فمثلا” تجمع سماعات الرأس VR و AR كميات هائلة من البيانات حول المستخدم وبيئته, وهذه تعتبر واحدة من القضايا الأخلاقية الرئيسية حول هذه التقنيات الناشئة ، ويفترض أنها واحدة من عوامل الجذب الرئيسية لـ Facebook في امتلاكها وتطويرها.

وما يجعل هذا الأمر مقلقًا بشكل خاص هو أن الطريقة التي تحرك بها جسمك فريدة جدًا بحيث يمكن استخدام بيانات VR لتحديد هويتك ،مثل بصمة الإصبع, هذا يعني أنه من المحتمل إرجاع كل ما تفعله في الواقع الافتراضي إلى هويتك الفردية وبالتالي بالنسبة لفيسبوك فإنها إمبراطورية إعلانية رقمية مبنية على تتبع بياناتنا.

-وقد سخر النقاد من إعلانات الفيسبوك المتعلقة بالخصوصية ووصفوها أنها مسرح لاختراق الخصوصية, شركة access now   المدافعة عن الحقوق الرقمية والتي شاركت في وضع سياسة خصوصية الواقع المعزز في فيسبوك في ال 2020,  كانت قد صرحت أنها حثت فيسبوك على إعطاء الأولوية لتنبيه المارة الذين تم تسجيلهم بواسطة Ray-Ban Stories ، مؤكدة أن تصريحاتها قد تم تجاهلها من فيسبوك.

-هل يعتبر الانترنت خريطة ل فيس بوك ميتافيرس:

يؤكد توني باريزي ، أحد رواد VR الأوائل ، بأن لدينا بالفعل مخططًا لميتافيرس البائس, ويقول إنه يجب علينا أن ننظر إلى الوراء إلى الرؤية الأصلية للإنترنت قبل تأسيس الشركات ، والتي جسدت “طريقة مفتوحة وتعاونية وقائمة على الإجماع لتطوير التقنيات والأدوات”.

إعادة تسمية Facebook ، وهيمنتها على سوق VR ، ورغبتها الظاهرة في توظيف كل مطور VR و AR في أوروبا ، واستحواذها على عشرات الشركات – كل هذا يبدو أنة رغبة أقل منها للتعاون الحقيقي والإجماع ، ويبدو أكثر على أنة محاولة للسيطرة على الحدود التالية من الحوسبة.

وجهة نظر أخيرة:

لقد جعلنا فيس بوك يحكم عالم وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي. لا ينبغي أن ندعها تحكم عالم ميتافيرس!

اقرأ أيضا في ويب توب هل نحن اليوم على دراية أكثر بالفيس بوك وتأثيراته؟

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *